A tale in dance celebrating identity, freedom and passion.


Midnight – the word alone conjures up images of excitement about endless possibilities as well as fear of the unknown that looms about. It takes a brave soul to face the darkness and venture out to where the Old ends and the New begins. The sound of midnight is the tortured wail of the bandoneón, the virgin voice of the violin, the thunderclap of the piano and the vibrant pulse of the double bass – the sound of midnight is Tango.

IDENTIDAD is a story about change, personal growth and search for identity.

The Marionette and her Puppeteer are trapped in a relationship of interdependent domination and submission of mind and spirit. The strings that connect their bodies bind their souls in a futile struggle for domination and power until – the zero hour brings the Duende, incarnate spirit of passion and change. He persuades the Marionette to undo her ties and leave behind a life of manipulation and second hand dreams. Her newfound courage and curiosity let her uncover her true identity and boldly venture out to claim the life of passion and freedom she desires.

The stage of IDENTIDAD is filled with an overabundance of light and colors, movement and energy, passion and emotions and music from the most celebrated Tango masters – Osvaldo Pugliese and Astor Piazzolla – to bring the story to life in front of breathless audiences.

In genre-busting choreographies and costumes the all-star cast takes us on a journey through the emotional rollercoaster that is called Argentine Tango.

  • Original Argument and Script:
  • Fernanda Ghi, Guillermo Merlo, and Alfredo Minetti
  • Artistic Direction:
  • Fernanda Ghi, Guillermo Merlo, and Alfredo Minetti
  • Choreography:
  • Fernanda Ghi and Guillermo Merlo
  • Musical Direction:
  • Alfredo Minetti
  • Light Design:
  • Aníbal Rea
  • Stage Design:
  • Fernanda Ghi, Guillermo Merlo, Alfredo Minetti, and Aníbal Rea
  • Costume Design:
  • Fernanda Ghi

  • Fernanda Ghi & Guillermo Merlo
  • Jairelbhi Furlong & George Furlong
  • Mariela Barufaldi & Jeremias Massera

  • Alfredo Minetti
  • Piano
  • Victoria Moreira
  • Violín
  • Richard Scofano
  • Bandoneón
  • Mark Sonksen
  • Double-bass